Receive alerts from your local agencies
...or text your ZIP CODE to 888777 for mobile alerts

Full Notification

South River Police Department
Monday April 1st, 2024 :: 02:06 p.m. EDT


"U Drive. U Text. U Pay." Distracted Driving Crackdown

From April 1st through April 8th, law enforcement agencies in New Jersey will participate in this year's statewide distracted driving crackdown. Although our department enforces distracted driving laws year round, this annual campaign takes place during Distracted Driving Awareness month and is meant to draw additional attention to and raise awareness of distracted driving dangers.

Distracted driving is a dangerous epidemic on roadways. Nationwide in 2022:

• 35% of drivers admitted to texting while driving

• 3,308 people were killed in accidents involving distracted drivers

• 25% of accidents involved a distracted driver

To combat these troubling statistics, law enforcement agencies throughout New Jersey will be using a combination of traditional and innovative strategies to crack down on motorists who text and drive. This effort is a part of the national U Drive. U Text. U Pay high visibility enforcement (HVE) campaign that combines periods of intense anti-texting enforcement coupled with advertising and media outreach to let people know about the enforcement and convince them to obey the law. U Drive. U Text. U Pay enforcement strategies include roving police patrols, spotters on highway overpasses, and stationary police vehicles prominently placed at strategic locations.

Historically, the most effective tool used to change driver behavior are targeted law enforcement campaigns, like Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over and Click It or Ticket. Since their inception, these two initiatives have resulted in significant reductions in impaired driving and gains in seat belt usage, respectively.

Distracted driving is any activity that could divert a person’s attention away from the primary task of driving. All distractions endanger driver, passenger, and bystander safety. These types of distractions include:

• Texting

• Using a cell phone or smartphone

• Eating and drinking

• Talking to passengers

• Grooming

• Reading, including maps

• Using a navigation system

• Watching a video

• Adjusting a radio, CD player, or MP3 player

Information regarding New Jersey's distracted driving laws:

• It is a primary offense for a motorist to talk or text message with a hand-held wireless telephone or electronic communication device while driving.

• Use of a hand-held wireless telephone or electronic communication device includes, but is not limited to:

1) Talking or listening to another person.

2) Text messaging or sending an electronic message.

• The penalties associated with these infractions have been adjusted in New Jersey to the following:

1) First offense: $200 - $400 plus court costs

2) Second offense: $400 - $600 plus court costs

3) Subsequent offenses: $600 - $800 plus court costs, 3 motor vehicle points, possible 90 day license suspension

* Second, third and subsequent offense penalties will be applicable only to convictions that occur within the current ten-year period.

• The operator of a motor vehicle may use a hand-held wireless telephone while driving with one hand on the steering wheel only if:

1) The operator has reason to fear for his/her life or safety, or believes that a criminal act may be perpetrated against him/herself or another person.

2) The operator is using this device to report to appropriate authorities: a fire; traffic crash; serious road hazard; medical or hazardous material emergency; or another motorist who is driving in a reckless, careless or otherwise unsafe manner or who appears to be driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs

South River Police Department
61 Main St
South River, NJ 08882

Emergency: 9-1-1
Non-emergencies: 732-238-1000

Submit an anonymous web tip

Navigate & Discover